Most Ocean County residents likely understand how serious a drunk driving charge can be, and thus will try to avoid engaging in such activity at all costs. Yet despite this understanding, drunk driving arrests continue to occur in New Jersey and throughout the rest of the U.S. In fact, study information shared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention shows that in 2012, 1.5 percent of New Jersey adults surveyed admitted to having driven after drinking too much at some point during the previous month.
When residents of Ocean County hear news stories of people who’ve been charged with misdemeanors, their first assumptions may be that the penalties being meted out aren’t very serious. Yet despite the reputation for being a light penalty, misdemeanor convictions should not be viewed as a slap on the wrist. They can carry with them some pretty heavy consequences, particularly if one has past offenses on his or her record.
Police in New Jersey took a man into custody after a Feb. 4 car accident that they believed resulted from drunk driving. After the man was treated at a hospital, officers charged him with DWI and several moving violations.
When a driver is stopped on suspicion of drunk driving, the police officer administers one or more tests to determine if intoxication is present. A blood alcohol concentration at or above .08 percent is the legal benchmark for impairment. If the police sobriety tests indicate impairment, the results will be recorded as evidence against the driver.
An 18-year-old Newark man has been detained by police for his alleged role in a string of armed robberies throughout Essex County, according to reports. Police believe he is one of three men who robbed a Hillside Place resident as he was sitting in a parked car in his driveway around 8:25 p.m. on Dec. 28. One of the men was armed with a shotgun and ordered the victim to exit his car and get on the ground. The trio then reportedly stole the victim's wedding band and iPhone and ran away.
A man was taken into custody on the night of Dec. 20 in connection with the shooting death of a local business owner, according to media outlets. The business owner was killed on Sept. 16 in a variety store located on the 800 block of South Orange Avenue.
According to authorities, a 23-year-old man from Cedar Grove who allegedly passed out in his car in a Riverdale store parking lot on Route 23 was taken into custody on Dec. 19. The Riverdale Police Department was dispatched to the store after receiving a report of a suspicious vehicle around 3:30 a.m.
On Dec. 14, a 25-year-old New Jersey man was accused of stabbing another man over a bottle of liquor, according to authorities. A detective with the Little Ferry Police Department stated that the accused man and the person who was reportedly stabbed had been part of a group celebrating another person's birthday when the incident occurred.
New Jersey authorities accused two people of robbing a man, kidnapping him and stealing items from his home on Nov. 17. The individuals were identified as a 20-year-old man and a 19-year-old man.
New Jersey penalties for robbery tend to be harsh, especially if the accused person is facing first-degree charges. The severity of the penalties increases when the threat of bodily injury or death was involved in the case.