Stalking is a common occurrence in New Jersey and elsewhere. Often, the person who is accused of this is unaware that his or her behavior qualifies as stalking and that criminal charges can result. It is important for residents to understand the different behaviors that qualify as stalking, as well as the penalties one can face for a conviction.
The prank called “swatting” gained national attention a few months ago, after a man from Los Angeles, California, made a false call to authorities that resulted in an innocent man’s death. New Jersey residents may associate swatting with arguments that originated online. However, it is important for people to understand the severe penalties that can result from playing this serious joke on others.
If New Jersey charges you with committing vehicular homicide, you face serious charges indeed. As FindLaw explains, if convicted of this death by auto crime, you could face up to 20 years in prison, a fine of up to $200,000 and possibly a lifetime suspension of your driver’s license.
If you were indicted for allegedly committing a serious crime in New Jersey, you likely will have a preliminary hearing after entering your not guilty plea and before proceeding to trial. In fact, as FindLaw explains, the whole purpose of a preliminary hearing is to determine whether or not the state has sufficient evidence to try you.
You may think assault and battery mean the same thing if you have been charged with both of them in New Jersey. However, as FindLaw explains, assault and battery are separate crimes even though they are closely related, and an assault often leads to a battery.
As a New Jersey resident, you should understand the importance of your Miranda rights well before an occasion arises during which you are arrested and questioned by law enforcement officers regarding a criminal matter. As FindLaw explains, there is much more to the Miranda warning than a mere recitation of rights that law enforcement officers are required to tell you when they arrest you. These rights have enormous meaning and consequences, and as established by the landmark 1966 U.S. Supreme Court case of Miranda v. Arizona, are the foundation of your constitutional right to liberty.
Entering into a plea bargain can be a very useful and practical strategy for a New Jersey resident charged with committing a crime. Before doing so, however, the defendant should know exactly what he or she is agreeing to and exactly what the consequences of that agreement will be.
If you are like most people in New Jersey, you have become aware of the many media stories across the nation that report on alleged sexual abuse or contact between adults and minors. This might include teachers being found in bed with students for example. In some cases, criminal charges are levied against the adult in the matter. Every state has its own laws when it comes to statutory rape or other offenses like endangering the welfare of a child or child lewdness. The age of the youngest person involved often is a factor in determining what if any charges are faced.
If you or someone you know has been accused of domestic violence in New Jersey, you might at first be surprised especially if there was no physical contact, violence or harm involved. Your surprise is not unusual and it is important to learn that there are multiple forms of domestic abuse.
Domestic violence in New Jersey is defined as physical, sexual, economic or emotional abuse, actual or threatened, of someone by a person with whom they are having an intimate relationship or have had such a relationship in the past. As FindLaw explains, New Jersey has a Prevention of Domestic Violence Act that is set forth in Title 2C of the New Jersey Statutes, Section 25-19.