If you drive in New Jersey, it is important that you have an understanding of how the state evaluates different types of traffic infractions. Not every ticket or citation is considered equal, essentially. In addition to unique fines, each type of citation may result in a specific number of points that may be added to your driving record.
According to the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, if any personal injury is associated with a violation, you may receive eight points on your license. You should know that the receipt of six points over 36 months may cause you to have to pay a surcharge. If you have 12 or more points, you may lose the right to drive.
Some citations may result in the addition of five points on your license. These include exceeding the posted speed limit by at least 30 miles per hour, racing on a highway, tailgating, reckless driving and passing a school bus when or how not allowed. Other citations may add four points each to your driving record. Among these are exceeding the posted speed limit by at least 15 but not more than 29 miles per hour, passing on the right when or how not allowed or passing another vehicle by going offroad.
There are specific points assessed for violations that happen on the Atlantic City Expressway, the New Jersey Turnpike and the Garden State Parkway. For example, on these roads, you may receive four points for improper passing.
If you would like to learn more about misdemeanor offenses and consequences, please feel free to visit the traffic violations page of our New Jersey defense website.