As more and more states in the U.S. legalize recreational marijuana, it is important for people in New Jersey to remember that pot is not legalized here. Even if you visit Colorado or some other state and smoke or consume marijuana in some form there, you are not allowed to do that once you are back in New Jersey. What might happen if you are accused of a pot-related charge in New Jersey? There are different potential penalties based upon the nature of the charges against you.
According to NORML, most marijuana offenses are treated as criminal charges in New Jersey. The only exceptions are possession of pot paraphernalia or possession of less than six grams of hash or less than 51 grams of pot. These are treated as disorderly persons offenses. A conviction for possession 51 or more grams of marijuana may result in your need to pay up to $25,000 and spend up to six months in jail.
Growing pot is also a criminal offense in New Jersey. Penalties for this offense may run up to $300,000 in fines and 20 years in jail depending upon the number of plants grown. Charges of distributing pot or possessing it with the intent to distribute may also result in these penalties. For distribution-related offenses, the penalties may be doubled if the drug is given to pregnant women or people under 18.
If you would like to learn more about drug charges related to pot, please feel free to visit the marijuana crime page of our New Jersey defense website.