Law Offices of Michael T. Nolan, Jr.

Experience — Integrity — Results

How much can a DUI conviction cost me?

Residents in New Jersey know that the law does not take drunk driving lightly. Serious consequences can be experienced by drivers arrested for drunk driving charges. These penalties can vary greatly based upon many factors including the existence of multiple offenses, the BAC level of the driver, if there was a breath test refusal and more. There are also many fines and associated fees that must be paid if you are ultimately convicted of a DUI charge.

According to the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission website, all convicted drivers must pay a $75 fee to a Neighborhood Services Fund and $100 each to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund and a drunk driving fund. On top of that, most drivers will be required to pay $3,000 in surcharges for the right to drive again. This surcharge is assessed in equal amounts over a three-year period. If you have been convicted of three or more DWI charges, your annual surcharge amount will increase to $1,500.

Drivers convicted of a first OUI offense will also need to pay $230 to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and general fines that can be as high as to $500. If you face a second or third driving while intoxicated charge within 10 years of a first offense, your IDRC fee increases by $50. Additionally, your other fines can be up to $1,000.

This information is not intended to provide legal advice but general information about the cost of a drunk driving charge in New Jersey.

 

 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
| Email Us For A Response

Get Answers From An Experienced Attorney

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Law Offices of Michael T. Nolan, Jr.
514 Brick Boulevard, Suite 6
Brick, NJ 08723

Toll Free: 888-415-7141
Phone: 732-965-3342
Fax: 732-477-0492
Brick Law Office Map