It does not take much to be accused of drunk driving in New Jersey. Many responsible drivers have faced such allegations after simple things like stopping for a casual drink with colleagues on the way home from work. When it comes to protecting your future, understanding how the state of New Jersey handles a first-time DUI or DWI offense can be important.
The penalties for driving while intoxicated are tiered in New Jersey. One factor that determines potential consequences is the blood alcohol content level at the time that an arrest is made. One set of penalties is identified if a BAC level is 0.08 or 0.09 percent, another for levels between 0.10 and 0.14 percent and another for those 0.15 percent or greater. All three of these levels can result in the assessment of fines, loss of driving privileges and time in prison.
According to the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, the use of an ignition interlock device will be mandated for people convicted of offenses involving BAC levels over 0.14 percent. The IID could be required for as long as one year after the license suspension period ends. In all first-time cases, drivers will be required to pay $3,000 in surcharges over a three-year period. This is in addition to other fines assessed.
Even if you are facing drunk driving charges for the first time, your penalties could be doubled if your arrest occurs in a designated school zone. This is generally within a 1,000 foot radius of a school. A breath test refusal can also increase your potential consequences. The professionals at The Law Offices of Michael T. Nolan, Jr. have extensive experience helping people defend against drunk driving charges.