Aggressive and Experienced Defense in Ocean and Monmouth Counties
A seemingly insignificant traffic stop for driving with a burnt out taillight, seatbelt offense or other traffic violation can lead to serious problems if you are driving while on the suspended or revoked list. Consequences for driving on the suspended or revoked list can lead to fines and even jail time if you have a prior conviction for driving with a suspended license. At the Brick, New Jersey law office of Kelly & Nolan, we have the skills and experience to help clients fight these charges and work to avoid or minimize the consequences.
Busted for Driving on a Revoked License? Call Our Brick Attorneys.
At Kelly & Nolan, our Ocean County attorneys fight to protect your rights and interests after being charged with driving with a suspended or revoked driver's license. Call toll-free at 888-415-7141, or contact us online today to schedule a consultation with a determined defense lawyer.
Our attorneys are honest and straightforward with you from your first appointment and throughout the duration of your case. We clearly explain your rights, the potential stakes and how we may be able to help you. With over 50 years of combined experience, our two lawyers work to build a unified defense tailored to your situation.
New Jersey Laws — Driving on the Suspended or Revoked List
If your driver's license is suspended or revoked — following accumulation of too many traffic violation points or any other traffic offense — and you operate a motor vehicle during your period of suspension or revocation, you may be subjected to penalties for driving under suspension / revocation — NJSA 39: 3-40. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you could face fines and potential jail time, including:
- First-offense driving on a suspended license: $500 fine and other consequences
- Second-offense driving on a suspended license: $750 fine, jail term of one to five days and other consequences
- Third-offense driving on a suspended license: $1,000 fine, 10-day jail term and other consequences
Was your license suspended or revoked due to a DUI/DWI? Did you cause a traffic accident while on the suspended or revoked list? Factors such as these can result in additional penalties if you are found guilty. For example, if you were driving while suspended, and the reason for the license suspension was as a result of a drunk driving conviction, you face an additional $500 fine (in addition to the fines listed above), an additional term of license suspension ranging from one to two years, and perhaps most importantly, mandatory jail time.
Our attorneys understand the challenges that come with not having a valid license. Finding transportation to school or work is a burden, let alone other locations such as to participate in treatment programs associated with a penalty. Our lawyers use their knowledge of the law and their experience in both prosecution and defense to work toward a more favorable resolution for clients in cases involving driving after revocation.
Take Action to Reinstate Your Driver's License
Oftentimes, individuals drive on a suspended license believing their licenses have been reinstated. It is important to realize, however, that you must take action to restore your driving privileges after your license is suspended or revoked. This typically includes:
- Serving your suspension time (the number of months or years your license was suspended for)
- Paying any fines or fees associated with the original offense (the offense that led to your suspension)
- Completing any penalties (such as jail time or participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC))
- Paying a license restoration fee to the Motor Vehicle Commission and following any additional restoration procedures
Start Mounting Your Defense Today
If you are facing charges for driving on a suspended or revoked list (driving without a license), trust in the services of Kelly & Nolan. Contact us online or call toll-free at 888-415-7141 to speak with an experienced New Jersey attorney. We serve clients from Asbury Park, Manasquan and throughout the Jersey Shore. For your convenience, we offer free initial consultations and accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit cards.