Experienced Suspended License Violations Attorney

A seemingly insignificant traffic stop for driving with a burnt-out taillight, seat belt offense or other traffic violation can lead to serious problems if you are driving while on the suspended or revoked list. Consequences for driving while on the suspended or revoked list can lead to fines and even jail time if you have a prior conviction for driving with a suspended license.

At the Brick, New Jersey, firm the Law Offices of Michael T. Nolan, Jr., I offer the skills and experience to help clients fight these charges and work to avoid or minimize the consequences. Call me now to schedule a free consultation: 888-415-7141.

I have earned my reputation as a hardworking, ethical attorney by practicing with integrity. You will find me honest and straightforward with you from your first appointment and throughout the duration of your case. I will clearly explain your rights, the potential stakes and how I may be able to help you. With two decades of experience, I will work hard to build a strong, clear defense that is tailored to your situation.

New Jersey Laws — Driving While On The Suspended Or Revoked Driver's License List

If your driver's license is suspended or revoked — following accumulation of too many traffic violation points or any other traffic offense — and you operate a motor vehicle during your period of suspension or revocation, you may be subject to penalties for driving under suspension/revocation — NJSA 39: 3-40. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you could face fines and potential jail time, including:

  • First-offense driving on a suspended license: $500 fine and other consequences
  • Second-offense driving on a suspended license: $750 fine, jail term of one to five days and other consequences
  • Third-offense driving on a suspended license: $1,000 fine, 10-day jail term and other consequences

Was your license suspended or revoked due to a DUI/DWI? Did you cause a traffic accident while on the suspended or revoked list? Factors such as these can result in additional penalties if you are found guilty. For example, if you were driving while suspended, and the reason for the license suspension was a drunk driving conviction, you face an additional $500 fine (in addition to the fines listed above), an additional term of license suspension ranging from one to two years, and perhaps most importantly, mandatory jail time.

In 2011, a new law was passed in New Jersey that elevates a charge of driving on a suspended license to a fourth-degree crime if (a) the individual is facing a second conviction for driving while suspended as a result of a first DWI or refusal; or (b) the individual is facing a driving while suspended offense as a result of a second or subsequent DWI. In either of these two events, the offense charged is a fourth-degree crime, punishable by 18 months in state prison, with a six-month period of parole ineligibility.

I understand the challenges that come with not having a valid license. Finding transportation to school or work is a burden, let alone other locations such as to participate in treatment programs associated with a penalty.

Take Action To Reinstate Your Driver's License

Oftentimes, individuals drive on a suspended license believing their licenses have been reinstated. It is important to realize, however, that you must take action to restore your driving privileges after your license is suspended or revoked. This typically includes:

  • Serving your suspension time (the number of months or years your license was suspended for)
  • Paying any fines or fees associated with the original offense (the offense that led to your suspension)
  • Completing any penalties (such as jail time or participation in programs at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center [IDRC])
  • Paying a license restoration fee to the Motor Vehicle Commission and following any additional restoration procedures

Start Mounting Your Defense Today

If you are facing charges for driving while on a suspended or revoked list (driving without a license), trust in the services of the Law Offices of Michael T. Nolan, Jr., in Brick. Contact me online or call toll free at 888-415-7141.

We serve clients in Asbury Park, Manasquan and throughout the Jersey Shore. For your convenience, I offer free initial consultations and accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express credit cards.