A Drunk Driving Conviction Can Cost You Dearly

Whether you were charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the penalties you are facing if convicted are extremely serious. If you have been accused of or charged with DUI/DWI, meaning your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .08 or above, turn to the Law Offices of Michael T. Nolan, Jr., in Brick, New Jersey.

As a skilled criminal defense lawyer, I can advise you of the potential consequences of a conviction on these types of charges and fight for your rights. Call toll free now at 888-415-7141 for a free consultation.

Jail, Prison, Fines And Other DUI/DWI Penalties

  • First-offense DUI/DWI with a BAC of .08 percent but less than .10 percent
    • Driver's license suspension for three months
    • Monetary fine of $250 — $400
    • Mandatory 12-14 hours spent at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
    • Up to 30 days in jail
  • First-offense DUI/DWI with a BAC of .10 percent or higher

    • Driver's license suspension for seven months to one year
    • Monetary fine of $300 — $500
    • Mandatory 12-48 hours spent at the IDRC
    • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Second-offense DUI/DWI (a BAC of .08 percent and higher)
    • Driver's license suspension for two years
    • Monetary fine of $500 — $1,000
    • Mandatory 12-48 hours spent at the IDRC
    • 30 days of community service
    • From 48 hours up to 90 days in jail
  • Third-offense DUI/DWI (a BAC of .08 percent and higher)
    • Driver's license suspension for 10 years
    • Monetary fine of $1,000
    • Mandatory 12-48 hours spent at the IDRC
    • Maximum of 90 days of community service
    • Mandatory 180 days in jail

Ignition Interlock Devices

Based on the number of previous DUI/DWI offenses, individuals convicted of DUI or refusing a chemical test for BAC will be required to install an ignition interlock device in their cars. This device requires the driver to blow into a tube that measures his or her BAC. In order to start the car, the BAC level must be .05 percent or lower. If it is higher, the vehicle will not start. In addition, the individual may be subjected to random rolling tests when the vehicle is in operation. If the BAC level at any point exceeds .05 percent, the car will shut off.

Driver's License Suspension And Revoked License Issues

It is important to note that in New Jersey, individuals who have been arrested for drunk driving, or are facing other traffic violations, and have had their driver's licenses suspended are not eligible for a conditional or temporary work license. The state does not offer these types of driving privileges. Anyone who does not hold a valid New Jersey driver's license may not get behind the wheel of a vehicle and drive for any reason until his or her license is reinstated.

Start Mounting Your Defense Today

To discuss insurance surcharges or other DUI/DWI penalties you are facing, contact a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney at the Law Offices of Michael T. Nolan, Jr. Call today toll free at 888-415-7141 or send an email.

I represent clients in Freehold, Long Branch and throughout the Jersey Shore. For your convenience, I provide free initial consultations and accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express credit cards as payment for court costs and legal services.